Our Company

On January 1, 2020 Legacy Mutual Insurance Association was formed from the consolidation of Pioneer Mutual Insurance Association in Red Oak, Southwest Iowa Mutual Insurance Association in Clarinda and Adams Mutual Insurance Association in Corning.  The origin and history of each company dates back to 1870, 1886 and 1884 respectively, bringing with it a rich legacy of service, experience and tested quality products.  The Boards of Directors of the three companies were intentional in its efforts when forming this regional mutual so that its membership could be served for decades to come.

Legacy Mutual operates as a State Mutual pursuant to Chapter 518A, Code of Iowa (2019.)  Its writing territory includes 19 counties:  Fremont, Page, Taylor, Ringgold, Decatur, Mills, Montgomery, Adams, Union, Clarke, Pottawattamie, Cass, Adair, Madison, Harrison, Shelby, Audubon, Guthrie and Dallas.  Legacy Mutual insures farm property, rural and city residences and personal property through a strong relationship with 17 independent agencies.

Through the years, the “mutual way” of doing business has evolved to become an important part of our rural economy.  Together, we can successfully insure, protect and restore one another’s property because we know the needs and conditions our communities face.  We know because the agents, directors and staff are local community members. Our mission is consistent with the philosophies of the original1870-1880 companies and is stated below in the adopted Mission Statement:

The mission of Legacy Mutual Insurance Association is to provide essential insurance protection for the needs and success of our members, agents, employees and communities.